Carrickfergus, N Ireland
The original Norman pillars are clearly seen, having been uncovered in the restoration of 1907. Mr. Denis O'D. Hanna, the Architect, says of them: "The round column of this type without secondary Shafting or semi engaged columns was favoured by both Ireland and France. Where Anglo-lrish influence is strong the columns take on English shapes as in Christ Church Cathedral and Saint Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin. The capitals are interestingly primitive:-one is similar in ornament to the mason marks of Norman times; the other a recognisable Norman treatment of cap."
Near the back on the right hand wall will be seen the tablet which commemorates the fact that 'This work was begun A. 1614, Mr. Cooper then Mayor, and wrought by Thomas Paps, freemason, Mr. Openshaw being Parson. Vivat Rex Jacobus."
The oldest tablet in the Church is in the floor of this aisle near the back, commemorating Richard Lang who died 20th May 1620. A tablet on the left hand wall reminds us that Samuel Davys, Mayor, gave the Church in 1714 a silver flagon, a font and tables of the Commandments, Lord's Prayer and Creed.
Beyond the Baptistry steps on the right we find the most valuable window in the Church. It is a Flemish 16th century window depicting our Lord being baptised in the river Jordan by John the Baptist. Samuel McSkimin draws our attention to the fact that "these windows did not originally belong to this church, but were brought from the private chapel of Dangan House, County of Meath, and were presented to this Parish about 1800 by the late George Burleigh of Burleigh Hill."
This lovely window, whose colouring is quite unique and has been much discussed by connoisseurs of stained glass, was originally placed in the east end of the Church, but was transferred to its present position in 1872. It has, unfortunately, been rather badly repaired, as can be seen in the uneven appearance of the lower portion of the window.
If the visitor will turn and look upwards towards the back wall of the gallery he will see two charming "Bulls Eye" windows, which probably come from the same period as the Flemish 16th century window.